Home» News» News» Focus»

Jiang Ying from ICQM elected 2019 APS Fellow

SEP . 23 2019
Peking University, Sept. 19, 2019: The election result of 2019 APS (American Physical Society) fellowship has been revealed recently, and Professor Jiang Ying from International Center for Quantum Materials (ICQM) Peking University, was newly elected as APS Fellow for his exceptional contributions to the study of water molecules at atomic scale.

Jiang Ying was nominated by APS Division of Chemical Physics. APS was founded in 1899. With 40,000 or so members around the world, it is among the most prodigious professional physical societies. Its publication Physical Review journal collection of 14 leading peer-reviewed research journals  is applauded as the most famous and the most authoritative one in the world of physics. The selecting procedures of APS fellowship are extremely rigorous, allowing no more than one half of one percent of the Society’s membership (excluding student members) to be recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow of APS.

APS’s citation for Professor Jiang is as follows: “for seminal contributions advancing the scanning probe microscopy and spectroscopy of water molecules, and to the understanding of structure and dynamics of interfacial water and hydration at the atomic scale”.

Extended reading:

Jiang Ying is a Boya Distinguished Professor of International Center for Quantum Materials, Peking University. He received China-Youth Science and Technology Award in 2018, and was named the leading innovative talent in the science and technology by Central Chinese Government in 2019. His research interests include scanning probe microscopy, surface science, single-molecule physics and chemistry, and low dimensional quantum materials. He has published over 40 papers, among which two on Science, three on Nature, and eight on Nature’s affiliated journals. Professor Jiang was invited to give talks in various conferences, workshops, and symposiums more than 70 times. He is currently a member of Editorial Advisory Board of Advanced Quantum Technologies and of Chinese Physics B. He has also been a member of Advisory Editorial Board of Chemical Physics from 2014-2017. His honors include Tan Kah Kee Young Scientist Award, Distinguished Young Scholars, Cheung Kong Young Scholar, and so forth. His research works have been awarded Top-ten Science Advance in China twice in 2016 and 2018.

Written by: Yang Hongyun
Edited by: Hu Rong
Source: PKU News (Chinese)