Please Enter Keywords
资源 63
Six Peking University professors awarded XPLORER PRIZE 2023
Jul 19, 2023
from clipboard

Peking University, July 19, 2023: Six accomplished professors from Peking University (PKU), among a cohort of 48 promising scientists, were granted the highly prestigious XPLORER PRIZE on July 17, 2023, according to the organizer of the prize.

Joining this remarkable cohort are Ding Jian, Chair Professor from School of Mathematical Sciences, Tian Hui, Boya Distinguished Professor from School of Earth and Space Sciences, Bai Fan, Boya Distinguished Professor from School of Life Sciences, Jiang Changtao, Boya Distinguished Professor from School of Basic Medical Sciences, Cheng Xiang, Boya Distinguished Professor from School of Electronics, and Gao Peng, Boya Distinguished Professor from Academy for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies.


Launched in 2018, the XPLORER PRIZE is a leading independent, non-governmental, merit-based public-interest award, developed and evaluated by prominent scientists. The award is also one of the most generous talent funding programs for young scientists in China.

Focusing on basic sciences and frontier technologies, the XPLORER PRIZE is awarded to up to 50 young scientists every year. Eligible recipients who are aged 45 and under and working full-time, will receive a no-strings-attached fund totaling RMB 3 million over a five-year period to further their scientific research. As of June 2023, the XPLORER PRIZE has funded 248 promising young scientists in mathematics and physics, chemistry and new materials, astronomy and geoscience, advanced manufacturing and other frontier science and technology area.

Peking University and the XPLORER PRIZE

Throughout the years, recipients hailing from Peking University stand out for their wide range of disciplinary skills and diversity. To date, the XPLORER PRIZE has been awarded to 34 PKUers, with the youngest awardee (of the prize ) being Huang Qianqian, a researcher at Peking University, who received the award (in 2020 )when she was only 30 years old.

Congratulations to all awardees of the prize!

Written by: Sun Yiwei
Edited by: Dennis Meng
Source: PKU News (Chinese)