Please Enter Keywords
资源 63
Prof. E Weinan receives Maxwell Prize at ICIAM 2023
Aug 22, 2023
from clipboard
E Weinan

Peking University, August 22, 2023: E Weinan, an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and a chair professor at Peking University’s School of Mathematical Sciences, was honored with the distinguished Maxwell Prize on the morning of August 21, 2023. 

The Prize was presented at the opening ceremony of the 10th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) at Waseda University in Tokyo, Japan, during which six major scientific prizes were given by ICIAM (See full list of the prize winners for the 2023 ICIAM Prizes here)

The Maxwell Prize – first awarded in 1999 – aims to “provide international recognition to a mathematician who has demonstrated originality in applied mathematics,” according to ICIAM. The 2023 Maxwell Prize was bestowed upon Prof. E in acknowledgment of his “seminal contributions” to applied mathematics, notably in the realms of machine learning algorithms, multi-scale modeling, rare events modeling, and stochastic partial differential equations, ICIAM notes. More recently, Prof. E successfully developed deep learning-based algorithms in scientific computing and computational science, it highlights.

from clipboard
Chairman of ICIAM, Yuan Xiangya (third from left), and E Weinan (third from right)

As early as 2003, Prof. E was selected as the recipient of the Collatz Prize presented by ICIAM, another prominent award among the aforementioned six major honors. With the most recent win of the Maxwell Prize, E becomes the first mathematician in the world to have won two ICIAM prizes.

Prof. E Weinan obtained his bachelor's degree at the University of Science and Technology of China in 1982, his master's degree at the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1985, and his Ph.D. at the University of California, Los Angeles in 1989. He is currently the director of the Center for Machine Learning Research at Peking University.

We extend our sincere congratulations to Prof. E Weinan for winning the Maxwell Prize.

Written by: Fu Jiaqi
Edited by: Dennis Meng
Source: PKU News (Chinese)