Please Enter Keywords
资源 63
Prof. Justin Yifu Lin wins 2023 Schumpeter-Haberle Distinguished Fellowship Award
Dec 08, 2023
Peking University, December 7, 2023: Professor Justin Yifu Lin, dean of the Institute of New Structural Economics at Peking University, has been recently awarded the IEA Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellowship Award 2023 in recognition of his outstanding contributions to economics. 

Lin concurrently serves as the Dean of the Institute of South-South Cooperation and Development and Professor and Honorary Dean of the National School of Development at Peking University.

from clipboard
Professor Justin Yifu Lin

The 2023 Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellowship Award will be presented in December 2023 at the 20th International Economic Assocation (IEA) World Congress. Lin is the first Chinese economist to be honored as a Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow. He has also been the first Chinese economist to be honored as a fellow of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World in 2005 and as a fellow of the British Academy in 2010.

Initiated by UNESCO, the International Economic Association (IEA) was formed in 1950. The IEA aims to promote communication and cooperation among economists from both the developed and developing world, through academic conferences, research projects, and joint publications. The IEA is highly reputed in the global economics community, with more than 60 national economic societies around the world participating as full members and another 16 cross-regional societies as associate members.

In 2018, the IEA established the Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow Award and the IEA Fellowship Award. The Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow Award and the IEA Fellow Award are the highest honors bestowed by the IEA on economists. The Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow Award is accorded every three years to a maximum of six economists nominated by the existing Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellows and elected by ballot. The award recognizes economists who have made outstanding contributions to the study of economic theory, international economic development, and policies.  

Written by: Ang Shao Heng
Edited by: Su Huangyi
Source: PKU News (Chinese)